skip to main content

MFA English Program

University of Mississippi

Longleaf Writers Conference

The Longleaf Writers Conference, held each May in the beach town of Seaside, Florida, is week-long conference with workshops, craft classes, headliner authors, multiple readings, agent/editor talks and consultations, and social activities. The dates for the 2019 conference are May 11-18. Each year two University of Mississippi MFA students (one fiction, one poetry) will be selected to attend the Longleaf Writers Conference with a full tuition waiver and housing as part of the U.M. Longleaf Scholars program. This is an exclusive arrangement available only to U.M. MFA students in partnership with the LWC.

Announcing our 2019 UM LONGLEAF SCHOLARS:

           Stephen Hundley – 2019 University of Mississippi Scholar in Fiction

Stephen Hundley is a former high school science teacher from Savannah, Georgia. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Permafrost, Notre Dame Review, Waxwing, The MacGuffin, Driftwood Press and other journals. He serves as the fiction editor for The Swamp literary magazine and is currently pursuing an MFA at the University of Mississippi in Oxford, where he lives.


           Kate Leland – 2019 University of Mississippi Scholar in Poetry

Kate Leland is a poet from Austin, Texas. She is currently an MFA candidate at The University of Mississippi and holds a B.A. in English – Creative Writing from Hendrix College. She works as an associate editor with Sibling Rivalry Press and reader for Yalobusha Review. Her work has appeared in The Hunger and Rust + Moth, and her debut chapbook “I Wore The Only Garden I’ve Ever Grown” was published in January 2017 with Headmistress Press. She lives in Mississippi with one cat and a collection of half-dead houseplants.


The Longleaf Visiting Writers for 2019 include National Book Award Finalist Rebecca Makkai and Poet Bryan Turner. Workshop faculty includes Poet Ann Fisher-Wirth, Creative Non-Fiction writer Diane Roberts, and Fiction Writer Matt Bondurant. Special Guests include literary agents Melissa Flashman (Janklow & Nesbit) and Sarah Bedingfield (Levine Greenberg Rostan). The full lineup of our 2019 faculty, special guests, fellows, and scholars can be found on the conference webpage:

Come join U.M. at the beach!